Aren’t we all Human?

I came across an old lesson we had when I was in my Junior year of high school, it was Literature class and we were reading Shakespeare’s MERCHANT OF VENICE. I always did adore Shakespeare, thought it is not my favorite Merchant of Venice was one of my favorites because I love Shylock’s monologue. Though he is the antagonist of the story, his monologue about him being a Jew and only be treated badly because of that fact was quite moving.

the-merchant-of-venice-al-pacino

“He hath disgraced me, and hindered me half a million, laughed at my losses, mocked at my gains, scorned my nation, thwarted my bargains, cooled my friends, heated mine enemies; and what’s his reason? I am a Jew. Hath not a Jew eyes? Hath not a Jew hands, organs,
dimensions, senses, affections, passions; fed with
the same food, hurt with the same weapons, subject
to the same diseases, heal’d by the same means,
warm’d and cool’d by the same winter and summer
as a Christian is? If you prick us, do we not bleed?
If you tickle us, do we not laugh? If you poison us,
do we not die? And if you wrong us, shall we not revenge?
If we are like you in the rest, we will resemble you in that.
If a Jew wrong a Christian, what is his humility?
Revenge. If a Christian wrong a Jew, what should his
sufferance be by Christian example? Why, revenge.
The villainy you teach me, I will execute,
and it shall go hard but I will better the instruction.”
-Shylock Shakespeare’s “Merchant of Venice”

 

if you are ever to be disgraced for your social status, religion, race and sexual preference, this monologue from Shakespeare’s tale “MERCHANT OF VENICE” fits perfectly with that. Because aside from the differences we have of physicality and of many preference, are not all human? Even if I am woman or a Jew or a Muslim or gay or in a race that you look down upon, what makes me any different from you aside from you see and assume? Am I not human? Am I not in the same planet as you are? If you spit equality at my face but hinder the rights of a minority, much less call it such minority, I call you a hypocrite.

If I am different then let it be but me and you share the same heart beats, subjected to the same torture that is around us. We are all different yet the same, all with a face and a name. But you judge me for what I am and not who I am making you forget that I am human just like you.

What makes you any better than I? What makes me any better than you? We are human but you let your eyes blind itself with hatred and judgement.

This post is not my usual poetry but the monologue is poetic nonetheless.

Give me love not Bad Romance

